Department of State lifts U.S. travel ban for residents of 13 countries

Department of State lifts U.S. travel ban for residents of 13 countries

The previous White House administration imposed a ban on citizens of countries with a predominantly Muslim population from entering the United States

Most US visa applicants who have been denied entry to the United States due to a ban imposed by former President Donald Trump can ask for a reconsideration or new applications, the State Department said on Monday.

President Biden lifted the ban imposed by his predecessor, Donald Trump, on the first day of his presidency – January 20, 2021 – calling it “a stain on our national conscience” in a statement.

State Department spokesman Ned Price noted that applicants who were refused visas before January 20, 2020, must submit new applications and pay a new registration fee. Those who were denied on or after January 20, 2020 can request a reconsideration of the decision without resubmitting their applications and without paying the registration fee, Price said.

Since December 2017, some 40,000 people have been barred from entering the United States by executive order, according to the State Department.

Under the previous administration, some countries were added and others were removed from the list. At the end of Donald Trump’s presidency, it included Myanmar, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela and Yemen.

ALSO READ:  Zelensky predicted a future "worse than Chernobyl" for Donbass