Russia Expands “Ukrainian Sanctions List”

By | September 5, 2020
Russia Expands

The changes relate to the Russian government’s November 1, 2018 ruling, which identifies individuals subject to personal sanctions.
The Russian government has expanded sanctions against Ukraine. The list includes former Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko and former MP Sviatoslav Vakarchuk, among others. The relevant document was published on the Russian legal information portal on Friday, September 4.

In addition to the former president and soloist of the group “OE” under sanctions came a number of Ukrainian officials and deputies. In particular, the non-factional MP Victoria Grib, a member of “Batkivshchyna” Mikhail Volynets. Also Alexey Kucherenko, Valentin Nalivaychenko, Kira Rudik, Sergei Rachmaninov, Yana Sinkevich, Mikhail zabrodsky, Olga Stefanishina, Sofia Fedina, and Sergey Taruta.

In addition, Russia imposed sanctions against Ukraine’s first vice-premier and Ukraine’s Minister of Economic Development and Trade Stepan Kubiv, who worked during Poroshenko’s rule. Also on the list is Akhtem Chiygoz, deputy chairman of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people.
The decision of the Russian government comes into force from the day of its publication.

Recall that Moscow has imposed special economic sanctions against 322 individuals and 68 legal entities from Ukraine in November 2018. Then the list included high-ranking politicians and officials, including Interior Minister Arsen Avakov, Defense Minister Stepan Poltorak, head of the National Security and Defense Council Alexander Turchynov, and others.

Restrictive measures mean freezing of accounts, non-documentary securities, and property of Ukrainian citizens, against whom sanctions have been imposed, in Russia. In addition, the Ukrainians who fell under sanctions lost the opportunity to withdraw money outside the Russian Federation.

Such measures were taken by the Russian government on the basis of a decree of Russian President Vladimir Putin “On the application of special economic measures in connection with the unfriendly actions of Ukraine against citizens and legal entities of the Russian Federation.”

Previously, the Australian government continued to operate sanctions against the Russian Federation until 2023.