Several countries have joined the EU sanctions on Crimea

By | August 24, 2020
Several countries have joined the EU sanctions on Crimea

Montenegro, Albania, Iceland, Norway, as well as Ukraine and Georgia have joined the EU anti-Russian sanctions on Crimea, the press service of the European Council reports
As noted in the press service, the above-mentioned countries will adjust their policy to take into account these sanctions. “The European Union takes this step into account and welcomes it,” the statement said.

Earlier in June, the EU extended sanctions imposed on Russia for the annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol until June 23, 2021.

Restrictions include a ban on imports of goods from Crimea or Sevastopol to the European Union, and also prohibited financial or infrastructure investment in tourism services on the peninsula. The export of certain goods and technologies for Crimean companies falls under the restrictions.

Crimea became part of Russia in 2014 following a referendum in which the vast majority of the inhabitants of the peninsula voted to move to Russian jurisdiction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − three =